At my internship I’ve been registering students for the SATs left and right.

It is a tedious process that makes me want to pull my hair out.

Today, after doing this nearly 70 times, I realized something odd.

On the first page of registration the student puts their name and address etc.

The third page asks them to fill out information about themselves and their parents (in terms of their parents highest level of education.) Sometimes a student will click over to this page and realize that their ethnicity or racial background has been automatically filled in for them by the website.

Meaning, the college board website has some sort of coding allowing it to take the student’s name solely, and determine the student’s ethnicity from that information.

I think its pretty shameful.

“How does it already know?” The kids ask, incredulous.

I never know what to say.

 

