So my friends it is with deep delight I announce to you that we have had a summer of groupon success! Though this technically wasn’t a groupon, it was a livingsocial!

Our deal was 24 bucks for dinner on the patio at the Fairmont Battery Warf in the North End where they have some really awesome fire pits.

Our living social included cheese fondue and smores for two, all for 24 bucks! I consider this a deal no matter what you say.

Of course everything didn’t go as smoothly as I’d like, because does it ever? No it doesn’t.

We had already tried to use this living social once before, but we drove to the North End on a gorgeous weather saturday night and couldn’t find a parking spot. SHOCKER! After circling a couple times I decided to cut our losses and we high tailed it to the cheesecake factory, our comfort chain restaurant of choice. Bad things happen when I can’t find a parking spot people, Mav describes it as watching me try to wring water out of my steering wheel as if it were a sponge. I knew it would be better to try again another day.

Fast forward to this past Thursday! I got out of work on the early side so I went and met Mav downtown at his office. It was a really nice day weather wise and though we could have taken the T we decided to walk. Mav said he knew the way (since we all know I never do) and I figured hey why not. Turns out we walked 2.5 miles.  2.5 miles is nothing to Mav and it isn’t much to me either except it was really sunny and hot out and I had to pee and I am a delicate flower.

Anyway after a long walk we made it to the Fairmont and went inside, the woman at the hostess stand at the restaurant saw my living social and asked if I had a reservation.

CRAP.

No, we didn’t have a reservation. The Living Social had said nothing about having to make a reservation.

Crappity Crap.

Now I was sweaty and hungry and frankly a little cranky but I tried to be pleasant. The hostess said she would go and see if either of the fire pits were available and asked us to go have a seat in the lounge which we did. Roughly 15 minutes went by and though I felt better having had been able to pee I was really hungry. Before I left to search for the bathroom I said to Maverick “start yelping places we would both wanna eat dinner at that aren’t too touristy” 

Eventually I spoke with the hostess again and she said “there’s a sofa with a firepit that should be opening up in a few minutes, would you like it?”

We told her sure and she then enthusiastically suggested we get a drink while we wait.

Mav and I are not “get a drink while we wait” people. We’re usually not even drink while eating dinner sort of people. So we retreated back to the fancy lounge chairs we had sat in before.

And waited.

And waited some more.

and waited.

When it became clear the hostess’s interpretation of “a few minutes” was different than ours we decided what the heck, we might as well go get a cocktail at the bar.

One hour, one gimlet and one white wine sangria later we were finally seated at our fire pit and oh man was it ever worth the wait.

unnamed

 

our delicious fondue is in that cast iron dish above the fire. The plate had fresh berries, crusty bread, provolone cheese and something called "salumi" which neither mav or I enjoyed, and some delicious dried apricots.

our delicious fondue is in that cast iron dish above the fire. The plate had fresh berries, crusty bread, provolone cheese and something called “salumi” which neither mav or I enjoyed, and some delicious dried apricots and spicy peppers,

we got to watch the sunset

we got to watch the sunset

 

Then made our own smores on the fire with chocolate, bananas, and reeses cups. After this we both almost cried on the walk back from the T about how full we were.

Then made our own smores on the fire with chocolate, bananas, and reeses cups. After this we both almost cried on the walk back from the T about how full we were.

 

It was a really awesome and unique dinner, I was already talking about going back again sometime on a double date for just the smores off the firepit menu and some rose. #grouponsummersuccess!

